

POWERED BY





MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship 2023 Powered By Vamcy Merla

## MEDIA RELEASE

- Double delight for unbeaten Hemanth Muddappa
- Mohammed Riyaz bags National crown

Chennai, December 24: Bengaluru businessman Hemanth Muddappa (Mantra Racing) confirmed his status as the king of superbikes by winning two titles – Unrestricted and 1051-1650cc Super Sport - in the MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Drag Racing Championship 2023 which concluded here on Sunday at the Madras International Circuit.

Muddappa, a 10-times National champion, clinched the crowns in both Unrestricted and the 1051-1650cc (Super Sport) categories winning all the four rounds while Hyderabad's Mohammed Riyaz annexed the championship in the 551-850cc (Super Sport) class, also with an unbeaten record.

Astride a Suzuki Hayabusa in the 'Unrestricted' category, Muddappa touched a top speed of 268Kms while winning the sprint in just 07.706 seconds in Round-4, bettering his previous round run earlier in the day when he clocked 07.746.

Muddappa extended his dominance in the 1051-1650cc (Super Sport) category by clocking winning times of 07.718 in Round-4 and 07.737 in Round-3.

Similarly, Riyaz was in a league of his own in the 551-850cc (Super Sport) category where he timed 08.544 in Round-4 and 08.476 in the previous round this morning to extend his unbeaten run in this class, winning four races from as many starts.

In view of the backlog of races due to the rain-affected Round-1 in September, the remaining three rounds were held back-to-back this weekend to complete the championship.

The results (all 4-Stroke):

## **ROUND-4**

Unrestricted: 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.706secs); 2. Alimon (Bengaluru) (07.740); 3. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (07.894). National champion: Hemanth Muddappa. Team championship: Mantra Racing.

1051-1650cc (Super Sport): 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.718); 2. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.053); 3. Mirza Jahangir Baig (Hyderabad) (08.077). National champion: Hemanth Muddappa. Team championship: Mantra Racing.

551-850cc (Super Sport): 1. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.544); 2. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (08.913); 3. Mirza Jahangir Baig (Hyderabad) (09.079). National champion: Mohammed Riyaz. Team championship: Mantra Racing.

## ROUND 3

Unrestricted: 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.746); 2. Alimon (Bengaluru) (07.867); 3. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.064).

1051-1650cc (Super Sport): 1. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (07.737); 2. Alimon (Bengaluru) (08.101); 3. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.146).

551-850cc (Super Sport): 1. Mohammed Riyaz (Hyderabad) (08.476); 2. Mirza Jahangir Baig (Hyderabad) (08.541); 3. Hemanth Muddappa (Bengaluru, Mantra Racing) (08.579).

\_\_\_\_\_